What is Halal? | Articles

To answer these questions, it is necessary to clarify the concepts of halal and haram.

In a broad sense, the word "halal" in Arabic means permitted, permissible, and "haram" on the contrary, everything is forbidden, prohibited. In a narrower sense, halal is an activity in which there is no prohibition. From a consumer perspective, these are technologies, products, goods, and services that can be used. From a gastronomic point of view, these are food, drinks and other food products that are allowed to be used as food.

The concept of halal, as in Islam, exists in other religions, in particular in Judaism, which requires the use of only kosher products.

Halal is not just a culture of consumption, halal is a way of life. 

 


Today, the halal industry is developing rapidly almost all over the world and the demand for products that meet the requirements of the Halal standard is growing.  

What is the reason why not only Muslims, but also representatives of different faiths, and even people who are free from religious beliefs, prefer products labeled "halal" when choosing goods and services? What is the place of the Halal industry in the real sector of the economy, what are its prospects for business and what are its advantages for consumers and producers?

 

What does it mean to follow a Halal lifestyle?

This is the observance of all the requirements of the religion of Islam in one's life, in all spheres, according to Sharia norms. Islamic law, based on the Holy Scriptures, the Koran and the noble Sunnah, prescribes the instructions for a person's stay on planet Earth and following legal schools (madhhabs). This gives a person algorithms for the halal use of all earthly goods.

 

What can Muslims eat?

Each madhhab has its own approach to defining what is forbidden and permitted in food. If we talk specifically about meat, then the following rule applies: living beings are divided into those whose meat is allowed to be eaten and those that cannot be consumed. An additional condition is that an animal whose meat is allowed must be slaughtered in accordance with the requirements of Islam. The main animals whose meat is allowed and accepted to be eaten are small and large cattle (sheep, goats, cows, buffaloes, etc.), camels, domestic and wild non-predatory birds, as well as rabbits, hares, fish and other living creatures. You can also eat game obtained according to Sharia law, such as deer, antelopes, gazelles, bison, bison and similar animals.

In order for the meat to be halal, the animal must be stabbed through the throat to the spine and necessarily cut, while the carotid cervical artery, trachea and esophagus. Also, you should not immediately cut off the head until the animal is completely killed.

The slaughter of an animal must be carried out in compliance with sanitary requirements, as well as ethics and humane treatment. Animals that are being slaughtered should not be subjected to violence, cruel and rude treatment. It is recommended that the animal does not experience stress, so you need to use a sharp and well-sharpened knife, the stabbing process is sharp and fast. . do not show the animal the blood and how other animals are stabbed. It is forbidden to remove a body part from a live animal, even if it is properly stabbed, until the animal dies. Meat that has been separated from the animal in this way is not allowed and is not suitable for human consumption.



What kind of animal meat can be consumed?

There are a number of animals that are prohibited from eating by direct prohibition, for example, a pig, a donkey, a dog, a cat, a snake, amphibians, as well as predatory, carnivorous animals with large fangs and birds of prey, the determining factor in which is the presence of claws and beak adapted for capturing and killing victims.

There are certain exceptions to some animals and the four legal schools (madhhabs) have different opinions. 

It is definitely forbidden to consume dead meat, meat of an animal slaughtered not according to the norms of Islam.

All fish are considered acceptable for consumption and do not need to be slaughtered like other animals. It is believed that all marine life that cannot live on land is allowed to be consumed. 

Naturally, the exceptions are fish and animals, the meat of which is poisonous and can cause harm to health.

You can also eat locusts, even if they are dead.

Being a Muslim means paying great attention to food and striving to use meat and other meat products in food only after their compliance with the Halal product standard has been confirmed.

 

How does halal food affect your health?

 

A person is what he consumes and his health is influenced by many factors. This includes the conditions in which the animals are kept, what they are fed and how the process of their further processing is carried out.

 


First of all, the Halal standard requires complete safety and the absence of harm to human health when eating halal meat and other products, taking into account the usefulness of the products, as well as compliance with all requirements, standards and accepted norms.

 


It is important to comply with production technologies, storage and transportation, sale and further use, and consumption. Halality can be affected by the composition and even the combination of ingredients.

It is important that in the production of halal products (halal meat, dairy or any other food products) separate production lines are used that exclude contact with pork, non-halal meat, blood, alcoholic products and other unclean substances, and the same tools and utensils should not be used for halal and non-halal products.

 

What do they pay attention to when certifying halal?

Even the smallest details are important in Halal certification. The use of food additives, processed animal materials (animal fats, gelatin, collagen, etc.) will be prohibited if the animal has not been slaughtered in accordance with Sharia requirements, as well as if it is a product made from meat of an animal prohibited for consumption, such as pork.

If harmful food additives are added to any food product, ingredients created from forbidden animals, dead meat or slaughtered according to the rules, as well as wine and other alcoholic beverages, then it should not be eaten.

Violations of sanitary and technical conditions, non-observance of cleanliness and hygiene in production, the use of expired products and substandard materials should not be allowed. 

Temperature, humidity, quality of packaging materials and much more are of great importance and affect halal products.

 


Upon confirmation that all conditions and requirements are met, the product can be designated as halal, this is confirmed by the issued certificate of conformity and is reflected on the packaging in the form of a label with the inscription "halal" in Arabic, Russian, English and other languages. Any product can be subject to halal certification.

 


When certifying halal products, experts also pay attention to ensuring that food, animal and poultry meat, as well as the production of halal goods in general, comply with the requirements of the Federal Service for Supervision of Consumer Rights Protection and Human Welfare.

 

Who buys halal products?

Many buyers most often look for such labeling on the product, which is a confirmation of the highest quality of Halal products.   

Halal meat and halal food are very tasty, and maybe that's why halal products don't stay on the shelves for a long time.

Paradoxical as it may sound, the majority of consumers of halal products, as well as goods and services, are people who are not Muslims. Labeling and compliance with the Halal standard means what is allowed and attracts sophisticated consumers who strive for quality, purity, safety and benefits for body and soul. Halal food may actually be the best of the food.

 


We have explained what halal and haram are, and the person makes the choice himself. 

We wish everyone to acquire only useful and pleasant things.

Начните сертификацию уже сегодня!

Оставить заявку