Halal and Kosher
The word "halal" in a broad sense in Islam means what is permitted from the point of view of Islamic law, and "haram" in Arabic means everything that is forbidden and not allowed. In this article, we will talk about what is allowed or forbidden to eat for Muslims and Jews.
"Kosher products" are those products that comply with the rules of kashrut, which means permissible, suitable. Nutritional requirements - what can be eaten, what kind of animal meat should be, and what complies with the rules of kashrut prescribed in the Torah.
We can often see Halal and Kosher labels on food products, which indicates a fairly high demand for them in society. Halal and kosher products are in demand not only among Muslims and Jews, but also among people of other faiths.
What do halal and kosher have in common?
Halal and kosher products are united by the fact that they are prepared in compliance with religious norms, which are necessary before food can be eaten by believers.
The main questions about food in both religions are: what kind of animal meat can be eaten? what can not be eaten? What kind of animal should there be? conditions of animal slaughter and cooking technology.
Observant Muslims try to strictly use only what is allowed in food, just as Jews try to have only kosher food on their table. And the confirmation of this is the marking of compliance with Halal certification, as well as kashrut.
Prohibitions in both religions
The requirements for food in both religions are clearly spelled out and they are well-founded and refer to the Scriptures.
Meat
Halal – only certain animals are allowed for consumption – cattle, small cattle, camels, as well as wild animals like deer, antelopes, moose, yaks, turks, etc. Birds that do not have large and sharp claws with which they hunt other animals.
Muslims do not consume meat from birds of prey like eagles, hawks, etc. Pigs, both domestic and wild, cats, dogs, domestic donkeys, predatory animals with large fangs such as tigers, lions, etc., amphibians such as frogs and others are prohibited. They also do not eat insects, with the exception of locusts.
It is not possible to mention all animals in this article, if in doubt, then you need to check with religious scholars-alims, muftis, as well as Halal certification centers for each specific type of animal – whether it is allowed or not.
Further, a necessary condition is the method of slaughtering an animal, which is carried out by cutting the throat, including the esophagus, trachea, and cervical artery. Slaughter is carried out in the name of the Almighty. This is how halal meat is harvested.
It is haram to eat the blood and carcass of animals that have not died from slaughter according to the norms of Islam and in the name of God. That is, an animal should not be self-inflicted or killed by other animals, and killing by suffocation, electric shock, cutting other parts of the body, stabbing the heart, etc. is not allowed.
Kashrut – according to the Torah, only ruminant meat is kosher and they must have cloven hooves – cows, sheep, goats, deer, etc.
Pigs, though artiodactyls, are not ruminants, and in Judaism, as in Islam, they are prohibited.
Meat from even permitted animals can be prohibited if slaughtered incorrectly.
The slaughter procedure can only be performed by a shokhet believer who has learned this craft and has official permission to engage in this activity.
You can only eat the front of the carcass, and the sciatic nerve is located in the back, which cannot be consumed.
Kosher meat must undergo another check, it is important that the animal is healthy – for this, the internal organs are carefully examined, if they are affected, the meat is not suitable for consumption.
Animals that have been killed in other ways are also unsuitable. There are other requirements – the knife must be very sharp and specially sharpened, the animal is secured so that it does not escape, all blood must be removed, it is important to observe all the subtleties of meat harvesting technology. It is from such meat that kosher food is prepared.
If Jews have doubts about the kosher nature of the food, or there are concerns that pork or chicken fried in pork fat may have been added to meat and sausage products, the rabbi advises to refrain.
Milk
Halal – in Islam, you can use the milk of all animals whose meat is allowed to be eaten by Muslims. Milk in Islam is considered a valuable and blessed drink, which the Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) loved very much.
Kashrut – Jews have special requirements for milk. For example, you can't eat milk and meat together. The rule is that before eating meat after milk, it is necessary to rinse your mouth and wash your hands. But after eating meat, you need to wait at least six hours before consuming dairy products.
Fish
Halal fish in Islam is allowed even without special slaughtering, that is, there is no slaughter rule.
Kashrut fish should have fins and scales. Such fish is considered kosher and its caviar, respectively.
Alcohol
Islam has a strict prohibition on alcoholic beverages. There is a verse about this in the Holy Quran.
Judaism does not have prohibition, but it does have its own requirements for alcohol, its production and consumption. It describes in detail how and who can produce it so that it is considered kosher, as well as the stages of intoxication and prohibitions on prayer after alcohol consumption.
In general, Kashrut and Halal have a lot in common, they are dictated by religious requirements and are aimed at observing the laws of God by believers.
Certification of Halal and kashrut goods and services helps Muslims and Jews to comply with religious laws and not violate food bans, according to their faith.